FAQs for marijuana recommendations and renewals

What is a recommendation?
A medical marijuana recommendation or renewal (also known as a "medical marijuana card") is an official document which verifies that you have a medical condition for which a licensed doctor recommends the use of medical marijuana.  This recommendation will allow you to enter any dispensary/collective throughout the state of California and purchase marijuana for medical use.

What is a renewal?
California law requires patients to renew their recommendation every year.  

What is the process for a new patient?
If you are new patient and you have never had a medical marijuana recommendation before, then welcome to DOC420.  We strive to make this experience informative yet simple for you.  It's easy, just follow steps 1, 2 and 3 on the homepage.

How much will this cost?
New patient: $35.00 for one full year with 24/7 verification
Renewal: $35.00 for one full year with 24/7 verification

Will my medical insurance pay for my recommendation, renewal, or the cost of my medication?
Unfortunately, no.  Your medical insurance will not pay for any aspect of your medical marijuana care.  

Can I get a recommendation or renewal for longer than 1 year?
Unfortunately, no.  The maximum length of a recommendation or a renewal is one year because you must be seen in person annually to evaluate for side effects.  

Is this confidential?
Patient’s medical records are strictly 100% confidential and secure under HIPPA privacy regulations.  We do not report lists to any state or federal government agency, employers, or insurance companies. It will not appear on any background checks.  We take every step to ensure strict confidentiality for each and every patient.

Will my name be listed on a state or government list?
No, we do not report lists to any state or federal government agency, employers, or insurance companies.

Will my health insurance, SSI or disability status be effected?
No, it will not be effected as we do not report to any insurance or disability agency. 

Will it show up on a background check?
No, this will not appear on any background checks performed by any schools, employers, insurances, or government agencies.

What is the advantages of getting a photo ID card?
A photo ID card is highly recommended for added protection.
Benefits of the ID card are:
-Accepted by law enforcement
-Photo identification
-Convenient size
-Secure and durable

What do I do after I get a my recommendation?
Your recommendation will immediately be active.  You will be able to enter any dispensary/collective throughout California for the purchase of medical marijuana.  

Do you offer 24/7 verification?
Yes, we provide 24/7 verification through our website with one of the best verification systems.  This allows access to your medication 24/7 including weekends and holidays throughout California.  

Once I purchase medical marijuana, where should I put it in my car while driving home?
After you purchase marijuana you should always put it in the trunk of your car while driving.  It is illegal for any person who is under the influence of marijuana to drive a vehicle and may result in a DUI.  

Where can I use medical marijuana?
You must use marijuana in the privacy of your own home.  The use of marijuana is not allowed in no smoking zones, within 1000 feet of a school or youth center except in private residences; on school buses, in a motor vehicle that is being operated, or while operating a boat.

Do I need to carry my recommendation with me at all times?
You must carry your original recommendation or photo ID card at all times that you have medical marijuana in your possession.  

What are the different ways I can use marijuana:
Smoking:
Marijuana can be smoked with many devices, the safest way to smoke marijuana is by using a vaporizer.  A vaporizer heats marijuana to 185–210 degrees, which causes THC to evaporate into a gas without burning the plant, releasing less toxic chemicals. Vaporizer users experience a more euphoric-type effect, because the vapor contains more pure THC.

Eating marijuana in foods:
THC is more efficiently absorbed into the bloodstream when combined in foods. The onset of effects depends strongly on stomach content, but is usually about an hour, and may continue for a considerable length of time.

Drinks made with marijuana
Marijuana can be consumed as a tea. Although THC is lipophilic and only slightly soluble, enough THC can be dissolved to make a mildly psychoactive tea.  However, water-based infusions are generally considered to be an inefficient use of the herb.

Marijuana Spray
Marijuana can also be administered via a mist spray under the tongue. By using this method, marijuana is not metabolized through the liver. The spray is absorbed from under the tongue and into the capillaries giving a more direct route into the bloodstream.

Marijuana ointments, creams, lotions:
Marijuana can be used topically to the skin to relieve pain from certain conditions. The medication can be a lotion, ointment or rubbing alcohol solution. Topical preparations provide only local relief and do not have any effect on the brain.

Once I become a legal patient, what new rights do I have?
Proposition 215, the California Compassionate Use Act, was enacted by the voters and took effect on Nov. 6, 1996 as California Health & Safety Code 11362.5. The law makes it legal for patients and their designated primary caregivers to possess and grow marijuana for their personal medical use with the recommendation of a California licensed physician.
Under prop 215, a valid recommendation from a doctor allows patients to grow 6 mature OR 12 immature plants.  At any given time patients may have in their possession up to a 1/2 pound (8 oz.) of processed cannabis per patient.  Individual cities and counties are allowed to enact higher, but not lower, limits than the state standard.

How many plants can I grow once I become a legal patient?  
Under prop 215, a valid recommendation from a doctor allows patients to grow 6 mature OR 12 immature plants.  At any given time patients may have in their possession up to a 1/2 pound (8 oz.) of processed cannabis per patient.  Individual cities and counties are allowed to enact higher, but not lower, limits than the state standard.

I just failed a drug test.  If I get a recommendation now, will it help me?
No.  It will not help you because we do not backdate recommendations, no exceptions.  

If my job drug tests me, can they fire me even if I am a legal patient?
Yes.  The California Supreme Court has ruled that employers have a right to drug test and fire patients who test positive for marijuana, regardless of having a valid recommendation. Some, but not all, employers will excuse patients if they present a valid recommendation.  

Will local and state law accept my recommendation if I get pulled over?  
Yes.  CHP officers were told in August 22, 2005 of the new policy which now allows patients traveling on state highways to have up to 8 ounces of marijuana with a valid recommendation.   Unfortunately there are still few rare cases where patients have their marijuana seized by CHP.  In most cases these patients are able get retrieve their marijuana by going to court and presenting the judge with their recommendation.  

What if I have questions there were not answered here?
Please send us a message through the contact us page and we will be happy to answer any questions for you. marijuana renewal